Who moved my cheese?

who-moved-my-cheese-new-version2-1-728

I don’t remember whether I read this book before or after the change came. Anyway it helped to sugar the bitter pill that I was forced to swallow. It was not so much the message which it contained that lulled my turbulent heart, though that could have been possible, but the very mention of cheese somehow forced a smile however faint to appear on my face in a hostile world.
Some 15 years back, I found myself disowned by a department, to which I had pledged my allegiance, for no fault of mine. Behind the facade of manufactured smiles, I could see knives drown out behind my back waiting for an opportunity to strike. I had suddenly become a pawn in somebody’s career moves, to be disposed of at will. Perhaps it was a godsend, perhaps a divine admonishment. Which ever it was, it taught me an important lesson in life.
The work that one does will rarely be appreciated. It will be an understatement to state that it will not even be noticed. Satisfaction, if any, should be drawn from the pleasure one get’s from doing the job–or if that fails to produce the desired effect– from the salary one draws.Anyone who considers himself a paid worker will have no problems at all in cohabiting with this arrangement.And I have come to realize that this is the best attitude to survive in a thankless world.
Times changed and my designated nemesis decided, to my great relief, to move with his cheese. That somehow, years later, propelled me up the food chain, with lesser predators to fear.Did someone not say, “Patience is a virtue and virtue is a grace?”
These days I’m getting that sinking feeling once again.Has somebody moved my cheese  again? Well, I can’t figure it out. And, if I keep moving after my cheese, I might be better of as a mouse in this rat race. No, I think should leave this cheese line and look for something more enduring than a piece of cheese(read temporal position)

 

Leave a comment